Broom Cottages Primary and Nursery School, Broom Road, Ferryhill, County Durham, DL17 8AN

01740 651 363



A very warm welcome from all our staff here at Broom Cottages Primary & Nursery School.


Broom Cottages Primary and Nursery School Staff 2015 - Photograph courtesy of TEMPEST PHOTOGRAPHY

Meet Our Staff



Mr Sean Kavanagh (Safeguarding Officer)



Deputy Headteacher

Mr Stuart Shields (Assessment / Behaviour / Gifted and Talented / Safeguarding Officer)



Business Manager

Miss Melody Hockaday (Health and Safety)



Our Foundation Stage Team


Mrs Hilary Todd (Foundation Stage Leader)

Mrs Sharon O'Kell (First Aid)

Miss Stacey I'Anson



Mrs Laura McCormick (R.E. Co-ordinator / First Aid)

Mrs Diane Shafto (Art and D.T. Co-ordinator / First Aid)

Mrs Louise Marr (First Aid)


Our Key Stage 1 Team

Mr Philip Graham (Key Stage 1 Leader / Maths Co-ordinator / First Aid)

Miss Amanda Cooper

Miss Amy Powton


Mrs Deborah Brown (First Aid)

Mrs Leanne Storey (Key Stage 1 / 1:1 Phonics Intervention / Lexia)

Mrs. Sue Waldock (1:1 Phonics Intervention / Lexia)




Our Lower Key Stage 2 Team

Miss Carrie Hardy (Lower Key Stage 2 Leader / PSHE / LGBT / Safeguarding Officer)

Miss Angela Northey

Mrs Rachel Simpson (Music Co-ordinator)

Miss Claire Gidley (Media Co-ordinator)

Mrs Michelle Scorer (First Aid)

Mrs Joanne Hocking



Our Upper Key Stage 2 Team

Mrs Jemma Etherington (Upper Key Stage 2 Leader / English / 

Accelerated Reader)

Mrs Helen Chilvers (History and Geography Co-ordinator)

Mrs Ellen Kean (Science Co-ordinator)

Miss Jessica Wheatley (P.E. Co-ordinator / First Aid)

Mrs Lesley Rose



Swimming Instructor

Mrs Linda Warwick



Our Admin Team

Mrs Lynn Price (Secretary)

Miss Erica Daniels



Mrs Patricia Hicks (Safeguarding Officer)



Speech and Language

Miss Dot Palmer (Counsellor / First Aid / Safeguarding Officer)



Parent Support Advisor

Mrs Jane Herron (Safeguarding Officer)


Educational Welfare Officer

Mrs Kelly Reynolds


Our Kitchen Staff, Lunchtime Supervisors and Breakfast Club


Mrs Angela Herron (Unit Manager - Taylor Shaw)

Mrs Julie Dennis (Catering Assistant - Taylor Shaw)

Miss Samantha Wharton (Catering Assistant - Taylor Shaw)


Mrs Debbie Gibson (Lead Lunchtime Supervisor / Breakfast Club / First Aid)

Mrs Sharon Bihari (Lunchtime Supervisor / Breakfast Club / First Aid)

Mrs Joanne Simmons (Lunchtime Supervisor)

Mrs Viv Ball (Lunchtime Supervisor)

Mr Michael Dunn (Lunchtime Supervisor / First Aid)

Mrs Janice Natress (Lunchtime Supervisor)

Miss Lisa Stapleton (Lunchtime Supervisor)

Mrs Jackie Welburn (Lunchtime Supervisor)

Mrs Celia Herron (Breakfast Club)



School Crossing Patrol

Mrs Janice Natress



Our Support Staff

Mr Gary Sokell (Caretaker)

Mr David Porter (Caretaker)


Miss Lyndsey Parker (Cleaner)

Mrs Debra Hodkinson-Hickey (Cleaner)

Mrs Linda Murphy (Cleaner)

Mrs Wan Sexton (Cleaner)

Mrs Julie Stephenson (Cleaner)